The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme is valued at up to £10,200 per year for up to four years for joint UK-Commonwealth citizens only. It’s intended for those who wish to study in a developing Commonwealth country as well as the United Kingdom.

These scholarships are funded by the UK Government and administered by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC). They are awarded according to merit and are expected to be used for courses at the university level.

Scholarships Overview

The scholarship provides fully funded, four-year undergraduate study for students from the UK and the British Commonwealth. The scholarship covers tuition fees and provides a maintenance grant of £10,200 per year. In addition to this, the scheme also offers a discretionary component of up to £2,000 per year per student. This discretionary component can be used to support students with additional costs such as travel or books.

These scholarships are offered by the 15 universities that make up the Russell Group in partnership with the General Secretariat of the Commonwealth of Learning (GSoC).

You will be studying at one of these universities:

  1. University of Birmingham,
  2. University College London,
  3. Imperial College London,
  4. King’s College London,
  5. University of Leeds,
  6. University of Nottingham,
  7. University of Oxford,
  8. University College London (including its Institute of Education),
  9. The Queen’s University Belfast,
  10. University of Southampton,
  11. The University of Edinburgh,
  12. University of Manchester (including its Humanitarian and Conflict Response Institute),
  13. University College London (including its Royal Veterinary College),
  14. Cardiff University and
  15. The London School of Economics & Political Science.

Scholarship Value:

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme is a UK-Commonwealth scholarship scheme (2022 entry) for joint UK-Commonwealth citizens to study in the UK. Its aim is to encourage people from developing Commonwealth countries to study in the UK. The scheme is administered by the Commonwealth Education Trust and funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID).

The scholarship is worth up to £10,200 per year, and is awarded annually on a full-time or part-time basis.

Eligible Countries & Regions:

To be eligible for this scholarship program, applicants must:

  • Be a citizen of a Commonwealth country except where otherwise specified below;
  • Be a citizen of the United Kingdom;
  • Be aged under 40 on 1 October 2022.
  • Have achieved/be expected to achieve in the range:

For undergraduate courses: an A-Level score of AAAA or equivalent or an International Baccalaureate score of 38 points or above; or,

For postgraduate courses: a first-class honours degree (or it’s equivalent) or an international equivalent;

For Ph.D. study: a Master’s Degree with Honours (or its international equivalent) and at least two years relevant work experience.

The closing date for applications for scholarships for entry in October 2022 was 22 January 2022. Applications may be made via the online application system available from that date.

The number of awardees:

A maximum of three scholarships may be awarded each year at the University. Each scholarship will cover full tuition fees and a maintenance allowance. For 2019/20 entry, the value of each scholarship is worth up to £10,200 per year (total value for three years of study is up to £30,600).

How to Apply for Commonwealth Shared Scholarship

The scheme was launched in October 2017 and offers up to 453 scholarships to high-achieving students from the Commonwealth who wish to study at one of the partner institutions in Australia, Canada, New Zealand, or the UK (either at undergraduate or post-graduate level). Each scholarship provides up to £10,200 per year (for three years of undergraduate study) or £23,000 for a postgraduate course.

To apply for a Commonwealth Shared Scholarship, you must be:

  • joint UK-Commonwealth citizen aged 18-30 years of age;
  • applying for a full-time postgraduate course starting at the start of the 2020 academic year;
  • and living in the UK (excluding the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man).

The scholarship is worth up to £10,200 per year. This amount is paid in equal payments of £5,100 over 12 months. The first payment will be made 2 months after your course starts. The scholarship will continue to be paid for 3 years or until you have completed your course and obtained your qualification, whichever comes first.

Application Process of Commonwealth Shared Scholarship

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship scheme is funded by the UK government and allows eligible students to apply for a scholarship of £10,200 per year. The scheme is only available to candidates from a handful of specified countries, all of which are former British colonies.

  • (1) Apply for a place at a participating University in the UK using UCAS;
  • (2) Once you have been offered a place at the University, you will be eligible to apply for a Commonwealth Shared Scholarship.
  • The application process will begin in June 2022. The closing date for applications will be 30 September 2022.
  • (3) If you are successful in your application, you’ll then be able to apply for your Tier 4 visa to study in the UK as normal via your chosen University or College.

Selection Criteria of the selection of Commonwealth Shared Scholarship

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme is funded by the Government of the United Kingdom and administered by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC). The CSC is a Commonwealth-wide organization that promotes higher education for students from developing Commonwealth countries. The scheme offers scholarships to students from developing Commonwealth countries who have been selected to study in the UK.

The scheme aims to create a network of future leaders from within Commonwealth member countries, who are able to make a positive difference to their country’s development.

There are two types of awards available through the scheme:

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme (CSSS) – This scholarship covers tuition fees and provides a maintenance grant to cover living expenses. A number of these scholarships are set aside each year for students studying in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) courses at participating universities.

Commonwealth Postgraduate Award (CPA) – This scholarship covers tuition fees only and does not provide a maintenance grant. Students may be eligible for this award if they plan to undertake postgraduate study at a participating university.


The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme is for joint UK-Commonwealth citizens only; worth up to £10,200 per year. It’s open to those who have been ordinarily resident in the UK for 3 out of the past 5 years. You could receive up to a maximum of £10,200 each year to pay your tuition fees and an allowance that covers all your living expenses.

For more information or any clarifications, consider contacting us. We can provide you with the official page URLs to access the portals and authentic information > Contact us.