The Rosalind Franklin Award is the UK’s open access Ph.D. program giving you and your research the maximum opportunity to develop a full Ph.D. and demonstrate your skills, impact, and knowledge in science. Thanks to the generous support of BBSRC, Innovate UK, and EPSRC, we are pleased to offer this opportunity to researchers looking for a world-class Ph.D.

The Rosalind Franklin Award UK 2022 is a joint initiative between BBSRC, EPSRC, and Innovate UK. The scheme aims to find scientists with an excellent academic track record in one of the following eight areas:

  • Animal disease genomics;
  • animal health technologies;
  • biological systems for food production;
  • biological systems in low carbon dioxide environments;
  • Bioprocessing technologies;
  • environment- and food-related molecular biology;
  • molecular approaches to global challenges and
  • Sustainable agri-food systems.


The Rosalind Franklin Award has been created to recognize exceptional women working in the UK biotechnology and life sciences sectors. The Award will be made to a scientist of any age who is making an outstanding contribution to her field.

The Award aims to celebrate the achievements of women working in the UK biotechnology and life sciences sectors and encourage more girls and women to pursue careers in science and technology. The purpose is also to promote greater gender diversity in the fields of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM).

The Award is named after Rosalind Franklin (19 April 1920 – 16 April 1958) who made major contributions to the understanding of DNA structure through X-ray diffraction analysis (X-ray crystallography). Her work was critical to determining the helical structure of DNA in 1953. Her data, produced by her and her colleagues, Watson, Crick, and Wilkins was published without her knowledge or consent, though she died before Watson, Crick, and Wilkins were awarded the Nobel Prize for their work on DNA structure.

Nomination Requirements

The Rosalind Franklin Award UK is open to women from the ages of 25-40 years old who have made breakthroughs in the physical, engineering, or mathematical sciences.

Nomination Requirements:

  • -You must be female (although you may nominate a woman for another category)
  • -You must be based in the UK
  • -You must have made a significant contribution to science, engineering or mathematics (e.g., you cannot be an actress/actress or author)
  • -You must be under 40 years of age on the day that nominations close (in 2022 this will be Friday 30th September 2022)
  • -If you are under 18, you may apply if a nominator presents your application and is prepared to accept personal liability for your nomination
  • -If you are over 40 years of age on the day that nominations close (in 2018 this will be Wednesday 30th September 2017), then you may still apply as long as you were under 40 when your first scientific publication was published
  • -Your paper/work cannot have been nominated previously and be open to public scrutiny

Eligibility Criteria

The Rosalind Franklin Award UK is open to all UK-based female scientists in the early stages of their career who are within ten years of obtaining their first degree and working in any scientific field. The award aims to provide a platform for women in science, technology, engineering or mathematics (STEM) who are not only already excelling but also have the potential to go on to make a substantial contribution to their particular field of research.

Awardees will be nominated by an established scientist in the relevant field and must be sponsored by a female academic of equivalent standing. The award will consist of a cash prize of £10,000, an engraved plaque, and a certificate.

The deadline for receipt of applications is 12 noon on 30th September 2022. Applications must be submitted via this website.

1. Applicants must be self-funding researchers; that is, they must be the primary funder of the research for which they are applying. To check whether you meet this criterion please contact The Rosalind Franklin Award.

2. Applicants should be within 10 years of obtaining their first degree and working in any scientific field (STEM). 3. People who have already been awarded major prizes such as Rhodes, Churchill/Coldharbour.

Selection Criteria

The Rosalind Franklin Award is for industrial research carried out in the UK in any area of industrial chemistry, including materials science and engineering, focusing on the development of new materials and processes. The award consists of a £10,000 prize and a medal, to be made available at the discretion of the award committee.

The criteria for selection are:

Research excellence and impact: The award recognizes outstanding research that has had a significant impact on the development of new processes or materials, or which has created entirely new fields of research.

Originality and innovation: The award will recognize research that has either been highly innovative or that has opened up new areas of investigation.

Impact outside academia: The award will reward research where an industrial application has been developed based on academic research or where academic-industry collaboration has had a significant impact on innovation.


The Rosalind Franklin Award is a yearly stipend for female students with a passion for science and future research. The award was founded by Dr. Matt Taylor in 2011 after he was awarded an Honorary Fellowship of the Royal Society of Chemistry. Dr. Taylor was inspired to create the award by his love of science and by the tireless work of Rosalind Franklin who he names as one of his greatest scientific influences. Totalling £10,000, the Rosalind Franklin Award is awarded in October every year to a female undergraduate or postgraduate student studying a STEM subject at a university in the UK.

The award recognizes women who demonstrate academic excellence and show great potential for future research. The award is split into two parts: £8,000 for living expenses over the course of her studies, and an additional £2,000 to be spent on furthering her research. The money is paid directly to the winner by BNP Paribas bank and can be used to fund their studies, equipment, or travel costs associated with research trips.

Thank you very much for taking your time to read the article completely, please consider subscribing to our blog for some periodic email newsletters or contact us.